Oven Roasted St. Louis-style Ribs

DSC00511

I was always intimidated when it came to cooking anything barbecue. I would watch BBQ cook-offs on Food Network and see how much time and effort was put in to make real good, award-winning BBQ. This made me stray away from even thinking about making my own at home until a couple weeks ago when Pops asked me if I knew how to make ribs.

I shrugged and told him I could figure it out. Fortunately with the power of Google and watching a couple of videos on YouTube, I managed to successfully make my first rack of BBQ ribs in the oven. 🙂 I see them being a Sunday staple in our household and can’t wait to share this recipe with you guys!

DSC00481DSC00483DSC00484DSC00499

Now I’m not saying these are going to replicate the same ribs I spoke of on those BBQ competitions but what I will say is that they’re a sure winner in my book.. if that matters. ♡ All you need is a nice rack of ribs (baby-back ribs would work here, too!),  a well-balanced rub of spicy and sweet, your favorite BBQ sauce, and about two to three hours of your time.

DSC00490DSC00485

I placed the ribs on parchment paper first to season thoroughly. Be generous with the rub and get into every nook and cranny!

DSC00493DSC00495

I transferred the ribs bone side up to aluminum paper and sealed them to keep in the moisture then placed them in a preheated 250 degree oven for 2 1/2 hours. Low and slow is the way to go! 🙂

DSC00496

Then I drained the liquid and flipped them over to coat with sauce. This is probably my favorite part cause I feel like Picasso when I’m slathering on the sauce with my paint brush (hehe). My Dad actually handed me this paint brush from his garage – clean, of course!! Pretty sure he bought this particular brush at Home Depot (shout out to the Twinkies ♡)!

DSC00501DSC00503

Cranked up the oven to 350 degrees and placed the ribs back in for 10 minutes. What we’re trying to achieve here is that beautiful BBQ sauce glaze *heart eyes*

DSC00510DSC00504

Took them out and painted on some more BBQ sawwwce then back in for another 10 minutes.

DSC00507

Rinse and repeat! Another 10 minutes.

DSC00509

I’ll be frank like the ocean, my stomach started to growl and I really could’ve put them in for another 10 minutes for what could’ve been the perfect glaze but I didn’t have the patience 😦

DSC00515

Looking through these pictures again is literally making my mouth water. 😦 I’m already looking forward to the next time I make these!

Ingredients:

  • 2 racks of St. Louis-style ribs
  • 1 cup of BBQ sauce

Dry Rub Recipe

  • 1/4 cup of kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup of granulated white sugar
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of ancho/chipotle powder (Purchased at Sprouts’, could also substitute with chili powder but I would suggest cutting back to about 1/4)
  • 1 tbsp of black ground pepper
  • 1 tbsp of ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp of ground coriander
  • 1 tsp of cayenne

Instructions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 250 degrees.
  2. Make the dry rub and mix well!
  3. Place ribs bone side-up on parchment paper and apply the rub generously. Don’t be shy!
  4. Transfer ribs to aluminum foil and seal shut. Place onto an oven safe baking sheet then into the oven for 2-3 hours.
  5. Take the ribs out and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  6. While waiting for the oven to preheat, flip over the ribs so that the bone side is down then paint on your BBQ sauce generously, too!
  7. Place the ribs into the oven for 10 minute increments and re-apply a layer of BBQ sauce each time in order to create the BBQ glaze. I would do this about 4-5 times but it’s really whatever floats your yacht 🙂
  8. Once they’re done, go ahead and cut between the bones. You can brush on some more BBQ if you’d like!
  9. Enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

