Shrimp Spring Rolls with Peanut Sauce

DSC00602

This month I developed a slight obsession over shrimp springs rolls with peanut sauce. I had about 10 minutes to spare before work one day so I decided to order some spring rolls at the Vietnamese restaurant right next door to our frozen yogurt shop.

$6 a pop for two spring rolls. Multiply by 3 or 4… I was easily losing ~$20 a week on spring rolls a week so I knew I needed to learn to make my own spring rolls to keep my pocket from hurting (my stomach, too).

DSC00590

The only cooking required here is boiling the noodles and soaking the rice paper for 10-15 seconds. Easy day if you ask me 🙂

DSC00594

They didn’t have instructions on my noodles but I figure it was like cooking pasta so 8 minutes was perfect-o.

DSC00599DSC00600DSC00601

Ingredients

Shrimp Roll

  • rice paper (can be found at your local Asian market)
  • vermicelli noodles
  • pre-cooked shrimp
  • spinach
  • 1/2 of a cucumber
  • shredded carrots
  • cilantro
  • mint

Peanut Sauce

  • 2 tbsp of hoisin sauce
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of smooth peanut butter
  • 2 tsp of rice vinegar
  • splash of water until desired consistency

Instructions: 

  1. Boil noodles for about 8 minutes.
  2. While the noodles are boiling, start warming up water in a pan wide enough for the rice paper to fit in and prepare your vegetables.
  3. Drain the noodles and set aside. By now, hopefully your water is warm enough for the rice paper and you can start rollin’
  4. Soak the rice paper for 10-15 seconds and place on a clean towel to assemble your veggies!
  5. Once you have your shrimp rolls ready, prepare the sauce by simply combining the first 3 ingredients together in a small bowl. Add just a splash of water until you get the thickness you want 🙂
  6. Enjoy!

This recipe is super versatile too! You can add a different protein if you’re not a huge fan of shrimp and change up the vegetables as well. Just keep it simple!

Leave a Reply

