Chicken Tortilla Soup

Chicken Tortilla Soup

June gloom is in full effect, folks! As a San Diego native, I’m not the biggest fan of cold weather 😦 Although I will say the runner in me enjoys this weather–but other than that, no bueno. I remember the beginning of last year when I first moved back home, I would complain about the random brisk days San Diego would have (totally bi-polar!) and my friends would be like, “You lived in the Eastcoast for 2 ½ years! You should be used to this.” To which I would reply with a confused Nick Young face, “No… It doesn’t work like that. Nope!”

Anywho, I digress. To help combat the cold weather to come, I made one of my all-time favorite soups! Initially, I would make this recipe in my crockpot with raw chicken breasts in my dorm but ever since I rekindled my relationship with my kitchen, I found that you’re easily able to make this on the stovetop within ~20 minutes, tops! I stumbled upon this recipe about 2 years ago and still use it today. I have modified it a bit so I’ll list my own personal ingredients and credit the original sources that helped make this recipe possible 🙂

Original recipe: Skinnytaste’s “Turkey Chili Taco Soup
In lieu of the taco seasoning called for in the original: Alton Brown’s “Taco Potion #19

You might question as to why I don’t just buy the pre-made taco seasoning found at your local grocery store (…or you might not, oh well. Still going to address it!) — the reasoning behind why is if you read the ingredient list, there’s usually some form of MSG or extra add-ons that I find that are unnecessary. Alton Brown’s “Taco Potion #19” is super simple to make and I find that I use the spices called in the recipe on a regular basis!

Also, before I go on to the ingredient list and the instructions, I just want to thank my homie Marleia (a.k.a. Mardizzle a.k.a. Lei/Leia/Lei Lei) for inspiring me yet again to expand my horizons 🙂 Leia, if you’re reading this, I appreciate you so much and am beyond thankful to have you in my life! I know I despised you in elementary school when we were both in the Lady Aztecs Basketball league (knew her as the girl with blue shoes hahaha) but our friendship has blossomed over the years and I thank God everyday for that. Ok I’m done being sappy! ❤

Ingredients

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • 1 rotisserie chicken, shredded (I recommend purchasing from Costco!)
  • avocado oil (or whatever oil you have on hand to sauté the veggies)
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 10 oz canned tomatoes with green chilies (I used Ro*Tel’s)
  • 15 oz canned or frozen corn, drained
  • 15 oz no salt added kidney beans, drained
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 16 oz fat free refried beans
  • 2 1/2 cups less-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons of “Taco Potion #19”–or enough to taste (see below)

Alton Brown’s “Taco Potion #19”

  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch (Note: I never have corn starch lying around so I’ve made this seasoning without it before plenty of times. I just know that cornstarch would definitely help thicken the consistency of the soup which you can totally do if you’re into that)
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons hot smoked paprika (Can be found at Trader Joe’s!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Heat up pan to medium-high before adding the oil. Once heated through, add the onions and sweat ’til translucent–about 5-7 minutes then add the bell pepper for another 2-3 minutes. Add the tomatoes, corn, kidney beans, tomato sauce, refried beans, chicken broth, and seasoning. Bring to a boil then cover and simmer for about 10-15 minutes to let the ingredients mingle 🙂

Serve with toppings such as avocado, tortilla chips, squeeze of lime, Cholula or your favorite hot sauce, sour cream/Greek yogurt, shredded cheese, onions, and/or cilantro then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

